DESTINATION #2.5 : WHICH TYPE OF FACEBOOK USER ARE YOU?

Hello everyone, we meet again!

 

I want to ask a question, are you a Facebook user?

yes-no

 

If yes, have you ever wondered what type of Facebook user you are? Did you even know that there was an existence of different types of Facebook users?

Image source

 

The world is so complex, it’s not as simple as we thought it would be. One moment, you just think you’re a normal user on social media who owns a Facebook account. Next minute, you’re been sectioned off to being a particular Facebook user, whilst the person who lives across the road from you is segmented off as being another type of Facebook user.

 

So what exactly are the different types of Facebook users? How many types of users are there? Why are we even dividing up different types of Facebook users?

 

With Facebook having an estimated 1.71 billion active users monthly, a study by Hodis, Sriramachandramurty & Sashtittal had sectioned off Facebook users into four segments. The importance of segmenting Facebook users is solely for the advantages of marketers. Within this framework, marketers are able to target their customers much better through crafting a marketing mix which fits the needs and wants of their potential customers. (Hodis, Sriramachandramurthy & Sashittal, 2015).

 

As a result, the four segments of Facebook users are as follows:

hodis-2015-1073170Image source

 

Entertainment chasers are characterized by:

  • Low levels of creation on Facebook
  • Low levels of Facebook consumption
  • Using Facebook as a form of entertainment
  • Method to deal with their boredom
  • Access is generally via mobile device
  • Uses Facebook to pass time
  • Enjoy playing games available on Facebook

 

Devotees are:

  • Spend large amounts of time on Facebook
  • Facebook is a way for them to connect
  • Constantly always seen on Facebook
  • Highly addicted to Facebook
  • Use Facebook as their second life
  • Facebook is where they can express their feelings & thoughts

 

Connection Seekers are characterized by:

  • High level of Facebook consumption
  • Low level of creation on Facebook
  • Main aim of wanting to connect with friends and family
  • Not posting and sharing about their daily lives

 

pay-attention-to-me

Attention Seekers:

  • Loves getting the ‘likes’ on their DP and photos
  • Wants people to pay attention to them
  • Not necessarily interactive and engaging with others
  • High number of friends
  • Time spent on Facebook is low
  • Thriving on compliments and praises received from Facebook community                                               Image source
  • Individual focused posts and status updates
  • Heavily centered around the ‘individual’
  • Heavily shares to others what they are up to

 

At the end of the day though, how important are these segments to marketers? Marketers must understand that their customers are all different. None are equal, hence they will need to be reached in different manners.

Have you ever noticed that when scrolling through your Facebook News Feed, on the right hand side, you’ll see a bunch of advertisements pop up? Have you ever noticed that sometimes the ads you see are very relevant to your research searches? Current Facebook marketing practices have accessed and analysed your recent searches, to then bring you recommended products and brands that could be potentially useful for you. However, what marketers don’t understand is that consumers are feeling ‘creeped out’ and ‘stalked’ due to the targeted Facebook advertising. The study mentioned in this blog post earlier found that users were becoming more suspicious, and as a result, consumers were turned off by such actions.

veterinaryfacebookads1

Image source

 

As a result, what should marketers do then? The answer is simply to personalize, shift away from advertising, and to meet consumer needs and their user psycho-graphics. Additionally, it is important to create campaigns which can appeal to more than one of the four Facebook user segments. Creating content that can engage several segments at once can reduce the consumers feeling of being ‘watched’ and ‘stalked’. (Martin & Torodov, 2010).

 

Before we finish off today’s tour, I want to know, what type of Facebook are you? Are you a particular user, or do you feel that you’re more than one type? Feel free to share your answers in the comment section below. I’m very keen on hopefully being able to meet each of the four types of Facebook users.

 

Thanks for your time, but in a single file, please all make your way back onto the bus.

Until next time, where we will meet at Destination #3!
Your Driver,
Teresa

 

5 thoughts on “DESTINATION #2.5 : WHICH TYPE OF FACEBOOK USER ARE YOU?

  1. Hi.

    This was an interesting read. I didn’t realise that Facebook had different types of user/segments.

    After going through the four types, I feel that I am a connection seeker. I don’t post any photos, or status’ that try to seek attention, rather, I use Facebook as a way to connect with friends and family. I often use the messenger/inbox to chat with friends.

    And that is kind of creepy….Now that you mention it, I have just noticed that Facebook ads do tailor to what I have recently searched. Just a few hours ago, I was looking for a dress to attend a wedding and suddenly on Facebook, I’m getting stumped with heaps of ads relating to dresses. Now I understand why. It really is kind of stalkerish isn’t it? I’m literally getting watched for every move I make online…..

    Like

    1. Hi Autummn,

      Thanks for your comment. I appreciate your contribution.

      Ohhh, looks like you aren’t the only connection seeker, as I categorise myself as being a connection seeker as well. Twins!
      Yes, the world of marketing is incredible, where everything happens for a reason. Everything that you see has been purposely placed there. From the ads you see and get, they’re often very related to your previous history/searches. What marketers do is they often attempt to understand you as a customer, and to provide you with relevant information that hopefully is useful. Hence, you may have noticed the several related ads you are receiving. As several individuals have just like you, voiced about feeling stalked and watched, overtime, marketers have taken this advice on board, and hence attempted to create advertisements and campaigns that potentially appeal to a large range of consumers rather than the particular individual.

      If you’re interested, here’s a link which talks more about Facebook and advertisements that are targeted towards the individual – http://lifehacker.com/5994380/how-facebook-uses-your-data-to-target-ads-even-offline

      Let me know your thoughts on the article if you do read it!

      Thanks,
      Teresa

      Like

  2. Hello,

    I stumbled across your blog by accident, however it is interesting to find out that there are different types of Facebook users. I guess I can see that there are different types of individuals who use Facebook in different ways, but I had not realised that people actually analyse this.

    After reading this post that you wrote, I can see the relationship between my recent searches and ads appearing on Facebook. I actually just recently noticed this same thing happening when I logged onto my email account too. On the right hand side, ads that appeared were very much similar to what I was just searching up a short while ago.

    To answer your question, I am an entertainment chaser. In saying that I am an entertainment chaser, how is this important to marketers? I still don’t understand how marketers can benefit from segmenting their Facebook users?

    Cheers,
    Tegan

    Like

    1. Hi Tegan,

      Lovely to meet you. Thanks for commenting and accidently coming across my blog. I’m always excited to meet new others who share an interest or thought about the world of digital marketing.

      Yes, I also have noticed myself the ads that appear when I log onto my email. On the right hand side, I will receive ads that are closely related towards recent searches that I have completed. In one of my previous blog posts, I also talk about Facebook ads, so here’s the link if you’re interested in reading. https://dmteresa.wordpress.com/2016/08/01/blog-post-title-2/

      You identified yourself as an entertainment chaser, to marketers they can attempt to target and engage you depending on the way you use Facebook. Looking at the qualities of an entertainment chaser, several main factors is that you use Facebook as a form of entertainment, generally access through mobile device and you enjoy playing games. Using these elements, marketers can focus to target you through using the ‘virtual goods model’. The virtual gaming world over the years has generated quite a bit of revenue for business, hence entertainment chasers are one of the few customers who fall into this category.

      I also have written a blog post talking about the virtual goods model, so if you’re keen, do have a read as well. I believe after reading this pots, you will be able to understand how segmenting Facebook users can help marketers. https://dmteresa.wordpress.com/2016/08/06/where-does-the-name-dmteresa-come-from-you-ask/

      Thanks
      Teresa

      Like

  3. There is such thing as different types of Facebook users?! That’s something entirely new to me.

    I’d probs say I am a devotee. I’m seen to always be on Facebook, and I am guilty of being quite addicted. I often ‘like’, ‘share’ and tag people in comments, along with writing up status’.

    Actually, I’ve got my mail page opened here, and on the right hand side, coincidently, there are ads which are very similar to what I have been previously before on Google. So according to your post, this is purposely being placed here? I indeed do feel stalked.

    Cool post. I definitely did learn something new. I’m not a business student, so this is all new to me, but I can somewhat identify the different types of Facebook users now after reading your blog post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

