DESTINATION #7.5: THE 3 R’S TO MAKING IT BIG AND GOING VIRAL

So you want to make it big and go viral?

I’ll be nice and let you readers know what the 3 R’s are right now, instead of placing it right at the bottom of my blog post:

  • Right Message (content)
  • Right Messengers (person/audience)
  • Right Environment (platform/medium used)

With these 3 R’s, if you follow it correctly, it will lead you the way towards going viral. Another important concept of viral marketing that I want to inform is the impact of ‘Word of Mouth’. (Kaplan & Haenlein, 2011).

viral_marketing

Image source

Now when we talk about viral marketing, I’m sure we have all heard about the ‘ALS Ice Bucket Challenge’ , or the Old Spice Brand who came up with the video of ‘The Man Your Man Could Smell Like’ , or ’22 Pushups Challenge’, but what I want to introduce to you all today is a viral campaign by The World WorldLife Fund (WWF). The campaign was launched in attempt to raise awareness about the endangered and threatened species.

As many of you know, images sent through Snapchat only appear for a short matter of seconds as they can’t be saved, just like in real life. WWF had a series of selfies that showed endangered species, and created a hashtag of #LastSelfie to go with the images. These selfies were placed on Snapchat, with the emphasize towards saying that if we do not take action, then these endangered species will disappear, just like how the Snapchat selfies disappear (Burgett, 2014).

WWF knew that Generation Y were a generation to spend majority of their time on social media, so it was only appropriate that WWF found the right medium and the right message to send it across towards the targeted population. Understanding that Snapchat was an application source that was popular amongst teens, the images sent through Snapchat would disappear within a matter of seconds, with no changes of it being able to be seen again. This was ultimately the message that WWF wanted to send across to their viewers, that these endangered species too can disappear and not be seen again if no action is taken place.

Snapchat was the perfect platform, being the right medium/environment to use as it aligned so well with the campaign of #LastSelfie. The message for this campaign was powerful in the sense that Snapchat photos and videos ‘disappear’ after a ten second countdown.

lastselfie_big_dk_gorilla_better_web1-734x857

Image source 

And the result of this?……. (Mobile Marketing Association, 2014

Image source

Here’s a short video for all those who are interested in the #LastSelfie campaign!

So, what are your thoughts on this viral campaign of #LastSelfie? Did you feel that it was successful? Did you enjoy the campaign? Because I most certainly did feel like it was a great campaign. In my opinion, I felt that it really touched me. Be sure to let me know your thoughts in the comment section below.

For those who found this viral blog post to be interesting, I want to share a few other viral campaigns with you’s too. Also, if anyone comes across an interesting viral campaign that hasn’t been mentioned, please feel free to let me know. I would be delighted to hear about them!!!

Until next time,
Your Driver,
Teresa

 

11 thoughts on “DESTINATION #7.5: THE 3 R’S TO MAKING IT BIG AND GOING VIRAL

  1. Oh no, who’s chopping onions in here? That’s really sad, and I guess a really effective campaign too. Definitely makes you think about these endangered animals, and the way Snapchat works happens to coincide well with the message that WWF is trying to send. The combination of both makes for a really powerful campaign for sure. I don’t think that remember any other viral campaigns because the way viral campaigns work, at least for me, is that it’s all hype the first time and then it just dies off – just like any viral video. But then again, maybe it’s just me with poor memory. Anyways good read Teresa! Looking forward to more articles from you 👍🏼

    Like

    1. Hello,

      Thanks for leaving a comment.

      I do agree with you, who was chopping onions?!

      It really was a powerful campaign wasn’t it. The fact that WWF were able to utilise the works of Snapchat and integrated it with their issue was outstanding. Snapchat fitted perfectly with this campaign that I just feel like it was a match made in heaven.

      You are correct, I do feel that there is much hype at the start, and then it dies down. However, even though it has died down, I do feel that it sticks and stays within individuals minds for a long while though.

      I also came across an article entitled ‘7 ways to create a successful integrated marketing campaigns’ which is also an interesting read. I could really see the elements described in this campaign evident within the #LastSelfie campaign too, which may have been the reason as to why the #LastSelfie was a successful campaign. [http://www.cio.com/article/2377257/online-marketing/7-ways-to-create-a-successful-integrated-marketing-campaign.html]

      Thanks for your encouraging comment,
      Take care
      Teresa

      Like

  2. Hello Teresa,

    I do definitely remember the ASL Ice Bucket Challenge. That was everywhere on my Twitter and Facebook. I remember all of the big celebrities around the world were getting involved too.

    Unfortunately though, I have never heard of the #LastSelfie. I do understand that you said it went viral and was successful, however I haven’t crossed paths with this viral campaign. Maybe it might’ve been due to the fact that I was not on Snapchat in the year 2014.

    However, it really is an interesting campaign that you brought up. Even though I do not come from a marketing field, I do feel that this campaign had touched me nonetheless. The message was powerful and strong, and I love how perfectly Snapchat fitted the message. Whoever came up with this idea is a genius. The relationship between the Snapchat photos disappearing and the endangered animals disappearing is amazing.

    Thanks so much for sharing, awesome post! Will definitely be letting my friends and family know about this.

    Cheers.

    Like

    1. Hi Laura,

      Thanks for your kind words and commenting on my post.

      I’ve been getting quite a few comments from other individuals who also come from a non-marketing background actually which is great because it allows me to hear the different opinions from everyone.

      Like yourself, I was not a Snapchat user back in 2014, so I was also unaware of this campaign. Although, I do slightly remember seeing photos of these selfies on my Twitter timeline.

      The use of Snapchat and the #LastSelfie campaign really was a perfect fit wasn’t it? I myself can’t get over the fact of how perfect Snapchat fitted the message. For me, I’d say that this message is very ‘consistent’, which acts as a reason as to why the campaign was so successful. With the Snapchat selfies disappearing after 10 seconds, and endangered species at risk of also disappearing from this planet, the consistent message between both created a strong impact. An article by Schiff 2014 talks in detail if you’re interested to know further as to why this campaign was such a successful one.

      http://www.cio.com/article/2377257/online-marketing/7-ways-to-create-a-successful-integrated-marketing-campaign.html

      Many Thanks
      Teresa

      Like

  3. Hi Teresa,

    Great write up! I really enjoyed reading the post since animals and the environment are topics close to my heart.

    As someone who doesn’t use SnapChat and is not active Twitter user, I didn’t really know much about this campaign. Only once did I see this on my Facebook feed and possibly only because IFL Science posted it. I think the campaign is a fantastic one and the #LastSelfie highly relevant to the animals because it can also have another meaning. #LastSelfie can also mean the last time people are able to take pictures of these animals or see them. Judging from the statistics on the inforgraphic, I would say that it was definitely successful. However, I’m not exactly sure what action users had to take? Did all they had to do was retweet the post or was there more to it?

    The campaign certainly satisfies the three Rs in having the right message. WWF communicated a message that was important and is important to a lot of people. I’m not entirely sure about the messengers as was it researched that Gen Y was more interested in saving animals? But I do 100% believe that SnapChat was the perfect channel since the message disappears in 10seconds to represent the animals disappearing.

    Like

    1. Hey Minty,

      Thanks for taking time to read my post and comment. Greatly appreciate it!
      I was also not a user of Snapchat in 2014, so how I knew about this was through Twitter.
      You are very much correct. These ‘last selfies’ could possibly mean that it is the last time to take photos/selfies of these animals as they are endangered, and without help, they will become extinct and will disappear, just like how the Snapchat photos disappears after seconds.

      Each selfie had a message in which it asked for help in saving the endangered animals. So what users did was screenshot the selfie which had contact information/donation information, and they shared this Snapchat image to social media sites such as Twitter. The message started to spread around, and not too long, large number of individuals were aware of this campaign. This video here may help you answer your question too : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMfTLWNiLX0

      In relation to your question about the messengers, to my understanding, what I think is along these lines. Snapchat was an appropriate medium as it is consistent within the message that it wanted to distribute. Secondly, Gen Y users are considered the generation to be highly reliant towards social media use. (http://www.emeraldinsight.com/doi/pdfplus/10.1108/09564231311326987).

      Social media is then correlated towards being able to distribute information/message to a large population at a faster rate (https://jmsc.hku.hk/revamp/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/INYT-Writing-Comp-2013-PDF.pdf). As a result, it was more in the sense that Gen Y could help in distributing the information across to others, focusing on creating awareness.

      Hope that somewhat answers your question.

      Thanks
      Teresa

      Like

  4. Hey Teresa, love this post! Very interesting reading about the three R’s, as someone who knows nothing about marketing.

    Now that I know about it, I can apply it to almost everything on various social media sites. I’ve see the 22 pushups challenge heaps of times on my news feed in the last few months. I can definitely see how Facebook is the right platform in this day and age. Thinking about my Instagram feed, the #nomakeupsselfie was really popular. I can see how the right environment (Instagram), the right content (selfies) and the right messengers (younger generation on Instagram) was the perfect mix for a viral campaign. After all, what young person can resist a selfie?

    Looking forward to more posts from you!!

    Like

    1. Hey Liz,

      Thanks for your comment, appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me.

      I thoroughly enjoyed writing this blog post, it’s such an interesting one isn’t it?

      It’s nice to gain feedback from individuals who come from a non-marketing background. It’s also great to see how easily you grasp the concept. You’ve pretty much nailed the 3 R’s. Well done, and love your example too. It very much reflected your knowledge on using the 3 R’s.
      Here’s a link to an article that talks about the ‘7 ways to create a successful integrated marketing campaign’ if you’re also interested. http://www.cio.com/article/2377257/online-marketing/7-ways-to-create-a-successful-integrated-marketing-campaign.html .

      Here, in the 7 different ways, I feel that there is similarity and overlap with the 3 R’s as well, which confirms that to go viral, you need to pick an appropriate channel, know your audience target well, and that the message is consistent all around.

      Be sure to hit the follow/subscribe button if you’re keen for more posts then 

      Cheers,
      Teresa

      Like

Leave a Reply

